This is a great “check list” to go by.

Writing Is Hard Work

I am currently attending an AP conference, and yesterday a list of questions were posed that gave me chills.  The instructor told us that all great literature asks a set of ontological questions or questions that get to the heart of what is important in life.  The reason I had such a reaction is that I can see that my latest novel discusses every one of them.  I’m not saying that my book is anywhere near the classical literature of old, but it is nice to see that I am on the right track.

As a writer, I often think about what my writing means to the world.  Does it really mean anything or is it simply the ravings of a madman?  Most of the best-selling novels today are not really reaching down into the deep ontological questions that make great literature, but what if they could?  What if writers…

View original post 216 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Posts About Anything

Please Leave a Reply

