Lisa Buie-Collard at D’Oc Publishing

When of elementary-school age, my sister and I earned our weekly allowance by writing short stories every week, one or two pages, that my father would ‘grade’ with us for spelling, originality, etc.; then he would he pay us 25 cents. My first paid writing gig, little did I know.

I grew up reading Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Ray Bradbury, Robert A. Heinlein, Anne McCaffrey, Edger Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Charles Dickens, Marion Zimmer Bradley, D.H. Lawrence, Mary Stewart, J.R.R. Tolkien, Victoria Holt, Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and many, many others. They all took up space in my head and filled me with dreams.

I’ve kept journals off and on all of my life. Stories have always fed a part of my inner self, whether verbal, written or viewed. My every-day existence wouldn’t be the same without them. Storytellers like Robert Bly, Bill Cosby, Ellen DeGeneres, David Sedaris, and the many authors I’ve listed above, twist my brain with their profound, amusing, poignant or thoughtful points of view. I write because I too, have stories to share. My dream is to have people read those stories, and perhaps in the process feel inspired to tell their own.

I’m a mother, wife, sister, and daughter, have waited tables, been a dental assistant, teacher, journalist, gardener and architectural administrative assistant. I’ve traveled in Europe, New Zealand, and the US. I speak French and English fluently with a little Spanish on the side. I grew up in Florida, lived four years in Georgia before moving to Texas for eighteen years. For the moment, I once again find myself in Georgia.

Lisa Buie-Collard

Lisa Buie-Collard

 

9 Comments

Filed under Posts About Anything

9 responses to “Lisa Buie-Collard at D’Oc Publishing

  1. I love the idea of allowance-for-stories! What a way to get started on a life of literacy – at least – and publication, if the spirit moves.
    Everyone has a different story about how they got started writing. Those stories alone would make great reading!
    H-m-m. Now, that got me thinking!
    Great post! – Julie

  2. I like that idea of a “allowance” for writing too. Interestingly, yesterday I had to pull my daughter out of school for an orthodontist appointment. I asked her what class she was missing and she said “my writing class” but she was happy to be missing it because she didn’t like the class. I felt a little disappointed but then remembered that at that age, I never really liked writing either. Oh how things change as you grow older!

    • celticadlx

      So very true, and growing up, or, should I say, older, has given me time to appreciate things I couldn’t before, like my dad correcting my spelling!

    • celticadlx

      Thank goodness! I’m glad I’ve had the chance to grow up and find out about all those ‘boring’ things I couldn’t stand back then, like onions and mustard!

  3. I love that your dad bought stories from you – what a great role model. Let’s hear it for your pops.

  4. Okay, totally off topic–I want your hair!! You’re blogs have inspired me this morning though I couldn’t figure out how to comment on your Barbie piece over at blogspot so I’ll just leave it here 🙂 I really enjoyed it. As kids we played with Barbies all the time. GI Joe was the resident stalker, Ken threw naked pool parties and the Barbies were always having cat fights and getting drunk or addicted to drugs (probably because my dad was a cop with stories). You brought back great memories–I’ll have to call my friend in NC today to reminisce.

Please Leave a Reply

